RSS Feed

Distractions

Posted on

I don’t know about you but I can never seem to be productive when I’m surrounded by clutter and disorder. My mind is constantly being drawn away from the task at hand to all the other things I could or should be doing. There’s the bills that need to be paid, the dishes that need washing, the half finished sewing project sitting at the end of the kitchen table. When I’m trying to work it’s things like these that distract me from what I should be concentrating on. Instead I find myself staring at the scene thinking: “where do I start, there is so much to do!”

It’s easy to begin to feel overwhelmed and end up wasting a morning procrastinating rather than being productive. Procrastination takes little physical energy but the sense of accomplishment completely makes up for that when I’m able to tick a few things off my to-do list.

I find that the best approach is to stop looking at the whole scene and just pick one thing out, usually the easiest or quickest, and get it done. Get up, get moving and start working. If it gets to lunch time and I’m still busy I’ll stop, recharge, reflect on what I’ve accomplished and decide what I’ll start on next. By the end of the day there are far fewer distractions and my mood has certainly improved.

 

Leave a Reply

